Sequels to ‘Anime Song History’ CDs released

Translated by The Asahi Shimbun from the website of Anime Anime Japan Ltd.

Two sequels to the “Anime Song History” compilation album, as well as the third “Tokusatsu Song History” anthology, were released Sept. 28, featuring anime and superhero songs mainly from the 1980s, Nippon Columbia Co. said.

Titled “Anime Song History IV,” “Anime Song History V” and “Tokusatsu Song History III,” the three CDs follow the success of their predecessors released by the music publisher in August 2010.

The CDs include widely known opening and ending theme songs from early anime and superhero TV shows.

The original albums were released to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the establishment of Nippon Columbia. Featuring artists from various music labels, the albums became highly successful.

The songs are presented in chronological order, providing a historical perspective to the anime and tokusatsu (special effects) superhero franchises.
Each CD is priced at 2,625 yen ($34) and covers more than 40 songs.

All songs on the new CDs have also been remastered in high-quality Blu-spec format. They are certain to make a good collectible for fans.

The new “Anime Song History” includes songs from anime titles aired from 1981 to 1985, such as “Lum no Love Song” (Lum’s love song) from “Urusei Yatsura,” “Love Love Minky Momo” from “Fairy Princess Minky Momo,” “Moete Hero” (Burning hero) from “Captain Tsubasa,” and “Ai wo Torimodose!” (Get love back) from “Fist of the North Star.”

The songs from “Esteban, a Boy from the Sun” and “Nine: Kanketsu-hen” (Nine: final chapter) are included in CDs for the first time.

Meanwhile, the “Tokusatsu Song History III” CD includes songs from superhero TV series aired from 1985 to 1994.

The CD covers the “Super Sentai” (Super task force) series, such as “Dengeki Sentai Changeman,” the “Metal Hero” franchise and the “Kamen Rider” series.

For more information, visit (

Copyright The Asahi Shimbun Company.